From 30 March 2006

Published July 28, 2010 by tootingtrumpet
I wrote this piece over four years ago and it took me those four years to drum up the courage to jump off the Merry-Go-Round and leave my job. I’ll need to jump back on soon, but I hope the ride will be more fun than it has been for the last 18 months or so. I often think about this painting and how to deal with its message.

In a new first for what nobody is calling “The Trumpet”, I attempt to publish an image. It is Mark Gertler’s “The Merry Round” on which I wrote an essay some 18 years ago.

It’s in the Tate, and worth a visit as its scale overwhelms with its manic horses careering and its soldiers and civilians unable to escape the relentless momentum of machine-made movement.

Painted in protest at the First World War, it speaks as directly today to Iraq as it did then to Ypres.

Read more about Mark Gertler athttp://www.newstatesman.com/200207220044 and about the painting at http://www.tate.org.uk/servlet/ViewWork?cgroupid=999999961&workid=5130&tabview=text&texttype=10

Leave a Reply

